Under the Weather

11.8.2010 – 4×4* — The only thing I could “concentrate” on was organizing the recipe binders and boxes I received from my grandma.  I’m not sure what it was about the 1950s suburban housewife and the affinity for jello, mayonnaise, and shortening, but, needless to say, those recipes found a new home in the recycling bin.

Oh, and happy birthday BWJ!

11.9.2010 – Jamba*

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

While conducting a major purging/fall cleaning over the weekend, I came across the following poem I clipped from the Edinburghian literary magazine, Small Fry Magazine‘s first issue (Dec. 2001):

the first love

green light of river,
invertebrate night slipping
under water,

I know the distance of you,

the voice of you,

the hardly gone but absent heart
of you.

The balcony, a tree bleeds
spring
rain washed Bottlebrush hush of
afternoon school ten years past.

This is the first love, this
blue sky blue I
follow, awhisper, to the other life,
the time well
where
there is the silent curve of your
hand in my hair

where
breeching moons
reach for each other

and separate, a necessity of orbit.

I remember,
this place,
from which I rise like a phoenix,
a time blossom, born.

I am home,

this sunshine,

eye of this -my-life,
born, breaths,
first love,
old love,
love from earth opened
like a wound, fearless.
And you, and they, and love’s
trajectories, scars across continents,
the debris of this first love.
I gravitate to where I began.
Centrepoint,
and land like my heart beating.

~m. noble

For a reminder of the crisp and ancient beauty of Edinburgh see these photos by Brian Ferry of the blue hour.

************************
Blogtrack:
– The New Amsterdams, “Slight Run”
– The Walkmen, “Blue as Your Blood” — Watch the Gothamist House & Foglight Films video filmed at the NYC Public Library here.

Leave a Reply

