Abandonment

I am poignantly struck by the reality of and need for abandonment.  Not abandonment in the selfish sense of giving up on responsibilities, people and relationships, throwing your hands in the air and simply walking away.  I am talking about the abandonment of an inflated notion of control and self-importance, that somehow one can will everything to work out according to the master plan.  The more I pause and look at the people, society and world around me, the more I see how this mentality has finagled its way into the individual and collective psyche.

The more I let go, the more I experience the deep, rich beauty and freedom that comes only with surrender.

The following two prayers of abandonment reflect the uncertainty of life and the sense of acceptance and freedom to truly live in the midst of not knowing:

Prayer of Abandonment

My Lord God, I have no idea where I am going.  I do not see the road ahead of me. I cannot know for certain where it will end.  Nor do I really know myself, and the fact that I think I am following your will does not mean that I am actually doing so.  But I believe that the desire to please you does in fact please you and I hope that I have that desire in all that I am doing.  And I know that if I do this, you will lead me by the right road although I may know nothing about it.  Therefore, will I trust you always though I may seem to be lost and in the shadow of death, I will not fear, for you are ever with me and you will never leave me to face my perils alone.

~Thomas Merton, Thoughts in Solitude.

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

Prayer of Abandonment

Father, I abandon myself into your hands;
do with me what you will.
Whatever you may do, I thank you:
I am ready for all, I accept all.
Let only your will be done in me,
and in all Your creatures –
I wish no more than this, O Lord.Into your hands I commend my soul;
I offer it to you with all the love of my heart,
for I love you Lord,
and so need to give myself,
to surrender myself into your hands,
without reserve,
and with boundless confidence,

For you are my Father.

~Charles de Foucauld

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

And for another form of abandonment, this is a sweet video for the bitter-sweetness of a broken heart.  Thanks to Brian Ferry for the link.

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

4.29.2010 – Dear Ralphs, one of the reasons I purchase organic produce is because the agricultural practices cause less trauma to the environment.  Adding a bright yellow sticker, really detracts from that whole environmental thing.  (Irvine, CA)*

4. 30.2010 – Pipes*

*******************
Blogtrack

The xx, “Shelter (Them Jeans edit)”

Leave a Reply

