Project 365: Post.It.

2.18.2010 – Freedom.Passion.Wisdom*

My unintended use of the flash resulted in an overexposed photo that I preferred to ones I took after turning off the flash.  I carried this mini post-it in my wallet for over a year (it is now housed at eye level on the wall in front of my desk) as a reminder of what I desire to cultivate in life.

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

I recently stumbled upon this print (and accompanying poem) and love it:

As good as I could possibly imagine my life getting, it did
after I met you
the way you reached inside my chest and pulled out things
and sent them off and breaths blew.
And as good as it got, with all the layers peeling off,
and though I writhed,
I could not upset you.
With your hand down my throat, you held on to my heart
and pumped blood through.

And then “It’s time to go.” you said,
“It’s time to go out you little gray goose.
Get out from under my wing.” you said,
“You swan, go on. Get out. You’re turned loose.”

Oh! so it’s over
Oh! so “we” died
Oh! so your hand on my heart pumping blood went limp
and Oh! I flied
Oh swan inside.

Perhaps the reason I like it so much is that it reminds me of the truth about this.  Maybe I will fly.  Maybe I am already flying.

Leave a Reply

