The Best(ish) of 2009

I have a thing for music.  It has been the entryway to several key relationships.  It encapsulates moments and memories.  It brings me joy.

As the year comes to an end I peruse the myriad of “best of” lists.  Artists I have not heard of are placed on a “to do/listen” list, which I slowly but surely work through in hopes I will discover a musical gem I managed to overlook all year.

With that here are my lists…

Best-ish Albums of 2009:

  • Beirut, March of the Zapotec and Realpeople Holland
  • Junior Boys, Begone Dull Care
  • Metric, Fantasies
  • Monsters of Folk, Monsters of Folk
  • Paper Route, Absence
  • Passion Pit, Manners
  • Thrice, Beggars
  • Various Artists, Dark was the Night
  • Yeah Yeah Yeahs, It’s Blitz!

Good Albums that Did Not Deserve/Live Up to All the Hype:

  • Animal Collective, Merriweather Post Pavilion
  • Grizzly Bear, Veckatimest
  • Neko Case, Middle Cyclone
  • Phoenix, Wolfgang Amadeus
  • St. Vincent, Actor

Despite Enjoying Their Previous Album(s), I Could Not Get Into:

  • Bon Iver, Blood Bank EP
  • Brand New, Daisy
  • mewithoutYou, It’s All Crazy!  It’s All False!  It’s All a Dream!  It’s Alright
  • M. Ward, Hold Time
  • Tegan and Sara, Sainthood
Leave a Reply

