Much Farther to Go to Let it all Go

In light of my last post

I have much farther to go
Everything is new and so unpredictable
I should just kick my heels together and go home
But I’m not sure where that is anymore….

I have much farther to go
I’m so confused I know
I should just kick my heels together and go home
But I lost my way when I lost you

Sometimes I cry when it’s late at night
And you’re not there to lay next to me
Morning breaks and the sun warms my face
How I wish it was you warming me

(Rosie Thomas, “Much Farther To Go”)

I am constantly reminded of moments once held and words once accepted.  Moments that stir my heart.  I give thanks for what once was, place them in a velvet envelope, and let them go.  One day I may (re)discover this envelope tucked inside a drawer.  And once opened a luxurious perfume will escape from the dried and crumbling petal-like memories inside.  This fragrance will linger in the air waiting to be breathed in, only to dissipate upon exhalation.  For now each remembrance is heavy with dewy heartache, and I must constantly pull these memories out by the roots lest they choke the truth.

Learning to let go will either be my undoing or my saving grace.  And quite possibly both.  With so much farther to go I am willing to trust You.  I let it all go in faith that You are who You declare Yourself to be and that You are where You say You are; that You are “present in this.”

Grace and peace.

Leave a Reply

